Heavy Music Awards: The Lowdown

So this week sees the third annual Heavy Music Awards take place and we for one are stoked! Who’s in the awards shortlist? Who’s playing? When and where is it? Here is a recap of everything you need to know...

Following nominations from almost 600 industry insiders representing hundreds of organisations, the shortlists are truly representative of heavy music and on Thursday the winners will be announced. Categories include the likes of “best producer” and “best photographer” which are crucial individuals that play a massive part in the music industry but are often overlooked for praise.

HMAs co-founder Dave Bradley said, “We’re overwhelmed by the support the HMAs have received from the industry at large, and excited that the many hundreds of individuals who nominated have once again produced shortlists that show the strength and diversity of the heavy music landscape in 2019. The Heavy Music Awards are built around a philosophy of inclusion and positivity – we’re incredibly proud to promote that message, and we can’t wait to celebrate once again at the biggest HMAs yet on 22 August.”

This evening isn’t solely an awards evening either! Performing between the announcements will be punk duo Delaire The Liar, genre-destroying Nova Twins, Liverpools heavy outfit Loathe and the mighty Cancer Bats to round the night off! To top this off the incredible Laura Jane Grace will be hosting the evening.

Check out the finalists below: HEAVY MUSIC AWARDS 2019 THE FINALISTS BEST ALBUM – Presented by EMP Architects – Holy Hell (Epitaph Records, Produced by Dan Searle & Josh Middleton) Black Peaks – All That Divides (Rise Records, Produced by Adrian Bushby) Ghost – Prequelle (Loma Vista Recordings, Produced by Tom Dalgety) IDLES – Joy As An Act Of Resistance (Partisan Records, Produced by Space) Judas Priest – Firepower (Epic, Produced by Tom Allom & Andy Sneap) Parkway Drive – Reverence (Epitaph Records, Produced by George Hadjichristou) Turnstile – Time & Space (Roadrunner Records, Produced by Will Yip) BEST UK BAND – Presented by Spotify Architects (Epitaph Records) Black Peaks (Rise Records) Bring Me The Horizon (RCA) Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality) Iron Maiden (Parlophone) Judas Priest (Epic) While She Sleeps (Sleeps Brothers / Spinefarm Records) BEST INTERNATIONAL BAND – Presented by The Pit Beartooth (Red Bull Records) Behemoth (Nuclear Blast) Ghost (Loma Vista Recordings) Halestorm (Atlantic Records) Parkway Drive (Epitaph Records) Turnstile (Roadrunner Records) Twenty One Pilots (Fueled By Ramen) BEST LIVE BAND – Presented by O2 Forum Kentish Town Architects (Epitaph Records) Bring Me The Horizon (RCA) Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality) Fever 333 (Roadrunner Records) Ghost (Loma Vista Recordings) Parkway Drive (Epitaph Records) Slayer (Nuclear Blast) BEST UK BREAKTHROUGH BAND – Presented by Believe Conjurer (Holy Roar Records) Dream State (UNFD) Holding Absence (Sharptone Records) Parting Gift (Fearless Records) Puppy (Spinefarm Records) Sleep Token (Spinefarm Records) Yonaka (Asylum Records) BEST INTERNATIONAL BREAKTHROUGH BAND – Presented by Fireball Alien Weaponry (Napalm Records) Bad Wolves (Eleven Seven Music) Fever 333 (Roadrunner Records) MØL (Holy Roar Records) Pagan (Hassle Records) The Faim (BMG) Vein (Closed Casket Activities) BEST PRODUCER – Presented by Allianz Musical Insurance Tom Dalgety Romesh Dodangoda Lewis Johns Nick Raskulinecz Andy Sneap Dan Weller Will Yip BEST PHOTOGRAPHER Derek Bremner Thomas Lisle Coe-Brooker Corinne Cumming Paul Harries Jennifer McCord Tom Pullen Ester Segarra BEST FESTIVAL 2000 Trees, UK Arc Tan Gent, UK Bloodstock Open Air, UK Download Festival, UK Hellfest, France Slam Dunk Festival, UK Wacken Open Air, Germany BEST ALBUM ARTWORK Architects – Holy Hell (Epitaph Records, Artwork by Dan Hillier) Behemoth – I Loved You At Your Darkest (Nuclear Blast, Artwork by Nicola Samori) Boston Manor – Welcome To The Neighbourhood (Pure Noise Records, Artwork by Josh Halling & Martin Ruffin) Bullet For My Valentine – Gravity (Spinefarm Records, Artwork by Daniel Holub) Don Broco – Technology (Sharptone Records, Artwork by Charlotte Smith) Ghost – Prequelle (Loma Vista Recordings, Artwork by Zbigniew M. Bielak) Judas Priest – Firepower (Epic, Artwork by Claudio Bergamin)

The Heavy Music Awards will take place in the O2 Forum Kentish Town, London on Thursday 22nd August. Doors are at 6pm. We will be at the event so if you haven’t been lucky enough to get a ticket then fear not as we will keep you updated!